GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

'07 GTi vs '11 GTi

lalalaprise

Ready to race!
Hey guys, Im new to the board, just started reading it today and decided to register.

I am planning on purchasing a GTI within the next month or so.

Here is my dilemma, I am deciding between getting a used 2007 GTI or going and getting a brand new 2011 model.

There are quite a few 07 GTI's in some of the used car lots around town as well as thru private sale....I can get one for around 18,000 in very good condition with low mileage.

To get a brand new 2011 GTI from the dealership here will run me around 36,000 for the 4-door model and 35,000 for the 3-door...this is fully loaded with the upgraded Rim package and leather.

I have been racking my brain for the last 5-6 months on which route to go...I like the look of both models and I have driven both...and love them...any input would be greatly appreciated, thanks.

Coopaloop

Passed Driver's Ed
if you love them both equally, i would just go with the cheaper option, the 07 is still a great car in my opinion, and both are almost exactly the same except for the styling difference

Red2011GTI

Go Kart Champion
Do some research on the motor as they are completely different. The 07 has the FSI motor and the 11 has the TSI motor.

miikez.

Autocross Newbie
instead of getting a fully loaded gti for 36k just get an r20. if you don't want the r20 well then the decision is up to you and if you want to spend more money or not.

IMO they're all great cars so you win no matter which one you choose.

iGTI1

Go Kart Champion
Jesus effin christ 35k for a gti...
Ahhh no thanks

CaptObvious75

Ready to race!
Jesus effin christ 35k for a gti...
Ahhh no thanks

Welcome to Canada where every car costs a lot more than the USA. A base GTI is near 29k... don't get me started on the Evo GSR which is a full 10k more than the states.:mad0259: