GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV
VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com



Go Back   VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com > Volkswagen GTI / Golf Topics > GTI & Golf MKVI General Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-14-2018, 12:52 AM   #1
Stockmk6
Newbie
 
Drives: Tornado Red MK6 GTI
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: New york
Posts: 3
Time for an upgrade!

Hey im pretty new around here but I wanted to gather some thoughts and opinions from people that im sure are more educated on this stuff than i am.

I bought my 2011 GTI with 57k on the engine being the third owner.

After some two months if daily driving it i ordered a MAP performance green filter intake.

This thing is fun!

But it threw a check engine light and my connect at MaPerformance told me i need a stage 1 tune which i just ordered with a Cobb AP.

What should i be looking out for?

Anything you can give me i will appreciate.

Thanks in advance!





Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Stockmk6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2018, 09:44 AM   #2
lilonespaz
Formula 2 Driver
 
lilonespaz's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Candy White 3-Door GTi DSG
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 6,118
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stockmk6 View Post
Hey im pretty new around here but I wanted to gather some thoughts and opinions from people that im sure are more educated on this stuff than i am.

I bought my 2011 GTI with 57k on the engine being the third owner.

After some two months if daily driving it i ordered a MAP performance green filter intake.

This thing is fun!

But it threw a check engine light and my connect at MaPerformance told me i need a stage 1 tune which i just ordered with a Cobb AP.

What should i be looking out for?

Anything you can give me i will appreciate.

Thanks in advance!





Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Ive never heard of a intake requiring a tune.

Seems odd. i ran my CTS turbo intake for like 2 years before getting tuned.



EDIT
I see why now. thats a dumb intake design. Why did they move the maf? (Actually where is the maf? i dont see a housing for it anywhere) I thought it was where the silicon meets the plastic pipe but that doesnt look wide enough or sturdy enough to have a maf sensor.

EDIT #2. I found the maf its built in on the underside.

What was the CEL code you got?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blakcard View Post
listen to your gut....And lilonespaz
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laimface View Post
hahaha why am I your signature
Quote:
Originally Posted by damagi123 View Post
just like god intended. he didnt kill off the dinosaurs for their sweet sweet bone juice to have it go getting wasted by eco-obsessed torque thieves.

Last edited by lilonespaz; 06-14-2018 at 09:50 AM.
lilonespaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2018, 10:22 AM   #3
Crusader10143
Go Kart Champion
 
Drives: 2012 VW Gti
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Ohio
Posts: 43
Definitely shouldn't need a tune just for an intake. I have the Injen intake and its built the same way with the MAF underneath the pipe although my car never threw a CEL.
__________________
2012 Tornado Red GTI/Injen CAI/5% tint/LED interior lights/more to come!
Crusader10143 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2018, 10:37 AM   #4
SyDiko
FIA GT Newbie
 
Drives: 2012 GTI
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: MA
Posts: 837
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stockmk6 View Post
But it threw a check engine light

I would say get that CEL scanned and get the specific code. Who knows? It might not be your intake at all.
SyDiko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2018, 12:45 PM   #5
alpha3
Rally Car Newbie
 
Drives: '14 CSG GTI
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Miami
Posts: 300
Yeah that's definitely odd.....I put a Carbonio intake on my A3 without any tune at all and ran it that way for quite a while before I got APR. Never had a problem, or got any check engine lights.
alpha3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2018, 03:59 PM   #6
Boscogn
FIA GT Champion
 
Boscogn's Avatar
 
Drives: CSG 2013 GTI DSG 4DR
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA
Posts: 1,172
I've heard of people getting errors when moving the maf to the underside. Or it could be the crack I'm on but I'm 90% sure. I would clear the code and keep clearing it for a couple weeks till your car learns the new intake.

Sent from my HTC6545LVW using Tapatalk
__________________
Wish List: Golf R InterCooler | Unitronic or IE CAI | P3 Air Vent Boost Gauge | 034 Motorsports RSB
NOTE: Please PM me if you are selling anything in my wishlist! Also check out my Build Thread!
Boscogn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2018, 10:44 AM   #7
FocalPoint
Formula 3000 Champion
 
FocalPoint's Avatar
 
Drives: MKV GTI/MKVI GTI
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 4,740
If you change the MAF position, it's entirely possible you threw off its ability to read airflow accurately. This will nerf performance for sure, and throw a CEL. I would go with a reviewed intake that leaves the MAF in the original position, and drop that tuner. He has no idea what he's talking about or he's trying to milk you for money.
__________________
FocalPoint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2018, 09:41 PM   #8
Stockmk6
Newbie
 
Drives: Tornado Red MK6 GTI
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: New york
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by FocalPoint View Post
If you change the MAF position, it's entirely possible you threw off its ability to read airflow accurately. This will nerf performance for sure, and throw a CEL. I would go with a reviewed intake that leaves the MAF in the original position, and drop that tuner. He has no idea what he's talking about or he's trying to milk you for money.


Just to clarify he didnt tell me to get a tune to run the intake. Just said those combined will give me a bit more fun as opposed to stock


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Stockmk6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2018, 04:50 PM   #9
SyDiko
FIA GT Newbie
 
Drives: 2012 GTI
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: MA
Posts: 837
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stockmk6 View Post
Just to clarify he didnt tell me to get a tune to run the intake. Just said those combined will give me a bit more fun as opposed to stock


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Honestly, with a Stage 1 tune I don't think you'd notice a difference. For example, let's say you flashed APR Stage 1, which is just a tune. A cold air intake might add 5-10 more HP versus the stock intake. I believe it's when you push upwards of Stage 2, where you'd have to upgrade your downpipe, will the gains become more noticeable.

Last edited by SyDiko; 06-18-2018 at 04:57 PM.
SyDiko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2018, 07:00 PM   #10
BudgetPhoenix
FIA World Rally Car Champion
 
Drives: 09 GLI
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 675
I say its worth it for the sound and having a serviceable air filter. You get all kinds of sucking, spooling and DV sounds
BudgetPhoenix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2018, 02:05 PM   #11
SyDiko
FIA GT Newbie
 
Drives: 2012 GTI
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: MA
Posts: 837
Quote:
Originally Posted by BudgetPhoenix View Post
I say its worth it for the sound and having a serviceable air filter. You get all kinds of sucking, spooling and DV sounds

I personally like the sound of air running through an after market downpipe, but an intake will add some nice sucking sounds.
SyDiko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2018, 06:11 PM   #12
Stockmk6
Newbie
 
Drives: Tornado Red MK6 GTI
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: New york
Posts: 3
Update: I do feel more power with more boost stock this car should be running 11-13 lbs and its doing a calm 16-18 lbs on stage 1+ Cobb tune with MaPerformance intake. I do think downpipes are next?

Thanks for the feedback guys


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Stockmk6 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.