GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV
VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com



Go Back   VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com > Technical Topics > DIY Guides and Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-04-2012, 03:46 PM   #43
flyguy27
FIA GT Newbie
 
flyguy27's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 328i Sport line
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: San Diego
Posts: 780
Quote:
Originally Posted by eduardot View Post
I've been wondering about this too. Maybe it's because of the auto recirculation?

Sent using Tapatalk
I dunno but my temp knob sits at about 2 o clock and its summer, so I dunno man but im not complaining.
__________________
Stock with Style
OEM FRONTLIP SPOILER|LED INTERIOR LIGHTS|RED FOOTWELL LIGHTS|GTI SEAT INSERTS|GTI DOOR SILLS|OEM LED CHERRY TAILS|REVERSE CAMERA|SEAT DRAWERS|RNS 510|
flyguy27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 05:10 PM   #44
reelknead1
Formula 5000 Driver
 
Drives: 2010 CSG GTI
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,445
I would like to know how this effects the temp that the AC blows. I have a 2010 GTI which came stock with Climatic. My Girlfriend just bought a 2012 with manual and her AC sucks compared to mine. I have to set it to AC max and 4 speed to get it to cool down and the air that it blows still isnt that cold, if I put mine to 60 it freezes my hands on the steering wheel.
reelknead1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 06:36 PM   #45
tmiw
Formula 5000 Driver
 
tmiw's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 GTI 4dr Autobahn w/DSG
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,553
Send a message via AIM to tmiw
Parts ordered. Bought a Climatic control panel that came from a 2010 Jetta (which should arrive Tuesday), and waiting for the sensor and everything else to ship from 1stvwparts.

What gauge wire have you all been using? I know it doesn't matter, but the speaker wire that I have is pretty heavy gauge and probably won't be a good idea to put in the car.
__________________
2012 Candy White GTI w/Autobahn and DSG (Journal thread)
Tons of stuff.
tmiw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 12:44 AM   #46
flyguy27
FIA GT Newbie
 
flyguy27's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 328i Sport line
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: San Diego
Posts: 780
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiw View Post
Parts ordered. Bought a Climatic control panel that came from a 2010 Jetta (which should arrive Tuesday), and waiting for the sensor and everything else to ship from 1stvwparts.

What gauge wire have you all been using? I know it doesn't matter, but the speaker wire that I have is pretty heavy gauge and probably won't be a good idea to put in the car.
I used 18 gauge.
__________________
Stock with Style
OEM FRONTLIP SPOILER|LED INTERIOR LIGHTS|RED FOOTWELL LIGHTS|GTI SEAT INSERTS|GTI DOOR SILLS|OEM LED CHERRY TAILS|REVERSE CAMERA|SEAT DRAWERS|RNS 510|
flyguy27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 09:17 PM   #47
heff3rd
Drag Race Newbie
 
heff3rd's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 GTI Autobahn DSG Tornado Red
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 51
My girlfriend has a 2010 TDI and I can confirm that there's a sensor in the dash housing above the fuse panel, however I can not locate any sensor in the below dash housing (by the way her's is also held up by a zip tie.) I checked the passenger side area after removing the uder dash trim and didn't see the sensor there either. I'm wondering where else it could be located so we can confirm the proper location for this retrofit.

Also, instead of splicing wires isn't there a way to determine the correct VW trigger wire (such as what's been used for the euro dash headlamp switch, etc.)?

Any input from VW techs?
heff3rd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 09:25 PM   #48
eduardot
FIA World Rally Car Champion
 
eduardot's Avatar
 
Drives: '12 GTI
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: FLL
Posts: 645
Quote:
Originally Posted by heff3rd View Post
Also, instead of splicing wires isn't there a way to determine the correct VW trigger wire (such as what's been used for the euro dash headlamp switch, etc.)?
I believe they are all called repair wires. It just happens to be that the one used for the light switch is long enough for that application.
eduardot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 07:31 PM   #49
UTmtnbiker
Newbie
 
Drives: 2012 GTI
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Utah
Posts: 1
Is it possible to go less cold on the air?

Just did the swap myself, and all sensors are reading correctly, but on max cold, it just doesn't seem to be blowing out air as cold as it did before...almost a mildly cold air as opposed to arctic cold.

Wondering if I maybe didn't do the dial part correctly (can't remember now) and if it can be fixed via VAGCOM, as I have access to one.
UTmtnbiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 01:11 AM   #50
flyguy27
FIA GT Newbie
 
flyguy27's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 328i Sport line
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: San Diego
Posts: 780
Quote:
Originally Posted by UTmtnbiker View Post
Is it possible to go less cold on the air?

Just did the swap myself, and all sensors are reading correctly, but on max cold, it just doesn't seem to be blowing out air as cold as it did before...almost a mildly cold air as opposed to arctic cold.

Wondering if I maybe didn't do the dial part correctly (can't remember now) and if it can be fixed via VAGCOM, as I have access to one.
Did you use vag after the install to monitor the temps the sensors or reading? Do this to confirm that it is blowing cold.
__________________
Stock with Style
OEM FRONTLIP SPOILER|LED INTERIOR LIGHTS|RED FOOTWELL LIGHTS|GTI SEAT INSERTS|GTI DOOR SILLS|OEM LED CHERRY TAILS|REVERSE CAMERA|SEAT DRAWERS|RNS 510|
flyguy27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 01:52 AM   #51
tmiw
Formula 5000 Driver
 
tmiw's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 GTI 4dr Autobahn w/DSG
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,553
Send a message via AIM to tmiw
Quote:
Originally Posted by heff3rd View Post
Also, instead of splicing wires isn't there a way to determine the correct VW trigger wire (such as what's been used for the euro dash headlamp switch, etc.)?
Could go the T-tap route (although some people hate those). There only seems to be one shared wire to worry about, so it should be okay.
__________________
2012 Candy White GTI w/Autobahn and DSG (Journal thread)
Tons of stuff.
tmiw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2012, 06:12 PM   #52
flyguy27
FIA GT Newbie
 
flyguy27's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 328i Sport line
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: San Diego
Posts: 780
Today I removed the panel on the passenger side similar to the fuse access panel on the driver side and there is also a rubber plug in the vent slot which means you could technically mount the temp sensor on passenger side in stead of the driver. Just a FYI.
__________________
Stock with Style
OEM FRONTLIP SPOILER|LED INTERIOR LIGHTS|RED FOOTWELL LIGHTS|GTI SEAT INSERTS|GTI DOOR SILLS|OEM LED CHERRY TAILS|REVERSE CAMERA|SEAT DRAWERS|RNS 510|
flyguy27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 10:51 PM   #53
tmiw
Formula 5000 Driver
 
tmiw's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 GTI 4dr Autobahn w/DSG
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,553
Send a message via AIM to tmiw
Ugh, I finally got all the parts in the mail and I find out that 1stvwparts only mailed me one housing, not two. Will have to wait on installing this till next week, I suppose.

BTW, is there any particular reason why I can't ground to a metal screw instead of tapping into the shared ground wire? Just curious.
__________________
2012 Candy White GTI w/Autobahn and DSG (Journal thread)
Tons of stuff.
tmiw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 01:54 AM   #54
tmiw
Formula 5000 Driver
 
tmiw's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 GTI 4dr Autobahn w/DSG
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,553
Send a message via AIM to tmiw
Anyway, decided to partially install it, even if I can't wire up the footwell sensor right now. Looks like it throws a soft code in VCDS if there's no footwell sensor, but still seems to work. Maybe it's using the value of another sensor in its place? (It's also possible it's behaving in a fully manual mode because of that code, but without further documentation on the Climatic system I can't be sure.)

It also doesn't seem strictly necessary to have the controls in the same position when swapping the control unit out, but I did the flap adaptation in VCDS just in case.
__________________
2012 Candy White GTI w/Autobahn and DSG (Journal thread)
Tons of stuff.
tmiw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 02:10 AM   #55
tmiw
Formula 5000 Driver
 
tmiw's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 GTI 4dr Autobahn w/DSG
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,553
Send a message via AIM to tmiw
Got the footwell sensor installed. Went ahead and followed the instructions at http://wiki.ross-tech.com/wiki/index..._(5K)_Climatic afterward and no problems so far. It did seem to turn on the heater when it was close to 72 degrees (where I had the dial set at) and kept it on even after it past that point, though. Is that normal?

BTW, I'm using a module that came from a totaled 2010 Jetta, so I'm not sure if that makes a difference:

Code:
Address 08: Auto HVAC (J301)       Labels: 3C8-907-336.clb
   Part No SW: 3C8 907 336 N    HW: 3C8 907 336 N
   Component: Climatic      H13 0203  
   Revision: 00006001    
   Coding: 0000000000
   Shop #: WSC 00066 000 00146
   ASAM Dataset: EV_Climatic A01001
   ROD: EV_Climatic_VW36.rod
   VCID: 38750A52838AE1D8D95

No fault code found.
__________________
2012 Candy White GTI w/Autobahn and DSG (Journal thread)
Tons of stuff.
tmiw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 09:22 AM   #56
eduardot
FIA World Rally Car Champion
 
eduardot's Avatar
 
Drives: '12 GTI
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: FLL
Posts: 645
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiw View Post
Got the footwell sensor installed. Went ahead and followed the instructions at http://wiki.ross-tech.com/wiki/index..._(5K)_Climatic afterward and no problems so far. It did seem to turn on the heater when it was close to 72 degrees (where I had the dial set at) and kept it on even after it past that point, though. Is that normal?
I keep mine around 72-74, but it's really hot here. The heater has never turned on.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiw View Post
BTW, I'm using a module that came from a totaled 2010 Jetta, so I'm not sure if that makes a difference:
Mine also came from a 2010 Jetta. Slightly different part number and software. I don't think it would make a big difference.

Code:
Address 08: Auto HVAC (J301)       Labels: 3C8-907-336.clb
   Part No SW: 3C8 907 336 AJ    HW: 3C8 907 336 AJ
   Component: Climatic      H14 0305  
   Revision: 00009001    
   Coding: 0000001002
   Shop #: WSC 00066 000 00149
   ASAM Dataset: EV_Climatic A01005
   ROD: EV_Climatic_VW36.rod
   VCID: 75CF3E92D49096B0023

No fault code found.
eduardot is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.