GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Wheel Spin problem... Any ideas?

Beans114

Ready to race!
I'm now stage 1 , and when I put the pedal down in second gear, the wheels just want to spin instead of putting the power to the road . Any suggestions? Maybe lower the front of the car to minimize weight going to the back when under WOT?
Also, if there is nothing that can be done, does this mean going stage 2 is pointless since my mk6 already can't put the power to the street?
* I'm new to tuning and figuring this stuff out , so any help will be appreciated!

AF-MKVI

Go Kart Champion
A toque mount insert helps quell wheel hop a lot if you are getting any, but tends to add a lot more vibrations. The best thing to truly increase traction is better tires. The factory all seasons blow and with a good summer tire it is a night and day difference.

excelevant

Go Kart Champion
Tires. The stock tires are terrible, I have excellent traction in 2nd now. 235/45/17

+1 on Torque Mount Insert. I can live with the vibes.

AF-MKVI

Go Kart Champion
I have the Neuspeed one... lots of people hate it because it does transmit lots.of vibes, I only really notice it in reverse when it really does start shaking. I can't speak for other ones, but there are softer options if you want less vibration.

excelevant

Go Kart Champion
Added torque from a tune causes the motor to twist more on the soft engine mounts. When you release the gas under high load, this causes the motor to bounce back and forth a bit. Consequentially, the shift linkage jumps around with it. If you're driving a manual gearbox you'll notice this.