GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

About to try autocross for the first time

aricolton

Passed Driver's Ed
Hi,

I have had my GTI for a few months now and I am really enjoying it. I signed up for an autocross event this weekend and have a few quick questions.

My car has APR stage 1 tune, but is otherwise completely stock. It is running on Coni DWS tires (I know they are not ideal, but they are all I have right now).

I have read a lot about changing the tire pressure for Autocross, especially with the all season tires. What pressure would be optimal with my tires and the fact that I have zero experience? Also, if I get the pressure right, how much tire wear should I expect from a single autocross event?

Other than that, I am really looking forward to it and hope it all goes well.

Any other helpful hints would also be appreciated.

Thanks for the help!

RacingManiac

Drag Race Newbie
First I would switch it back to stock tune. You won't use the extra power, and infact it might make everything worse, so just run stock tune and in "G-Street" class and you'll be fine...

Just listen to how little time you can actually be on power...