GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Apartment help

GTICrazy90

Ready to race!
Alright so I'm a college student and next year, my friends and I are planning on moving in an apartment. There are a couple of apartments that are right off campus that charge $700/room, and they are fully furnished and they come with some utilities like water and internet. Maybe cable also im not sure.

Or our other option is going like 3 miles away from campus and find ourselves regular apartments that are about $500/room. The apartment is not furnished, so we would need like beds, sofa, table, fridge and microwave. Also I think the only utilities offered in apartments are water, but im not sure. So we would have to pay for internet and cable tv.

So which one is the better choice, it would be a 10 month lease. How much do utilities cost because if we get the off campus apartment we would be splitting up the cost of utilities for 3 people.

Anyone think they can help?? Thanks in advance!

GyroJoe

Turbo is my middle name
Damn that's some cheap rent.

The internet you usually get in a place that supplies it for you is generally pretty shit. They'll have like a T1 for the whole place and bandwidth will suck. Take that into consideration.

Having to source a fridge will probably be the biggest headache. On the upside, you can turn it into a kegerator when you are done with it.

I dunno where you are going to school, but finding parking on campus was always a bitch where I went. If the price difference isn't too big it's probably worth it to have a furnished place closer to campus.

GTICrazy90

Ready to race!
That aint that cheap for me, haha. I go to UCR, i guess its not as expensive as many other places. It does not matter if i live closer to campus, cause i have car so livving about a half a mile away or two isnt a big deal. Yea the rooms come furnished but the rent is about an extra $2000. You can buy a lot with that and you get to keep everything too.