GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Break in period

BMWguyw/GTI1

Ready to race!
Hi all I just got a 2011 carbon steel grey metallic GTI manual and I was reading my owners manual and saw a 1000 mile breakin peroid. It says no full throttle no more then 2/3 of the engines top speed and no towing. I have given it full throttle to redline a few times allready before reading that. Seeing how some people put stage x tunes on there car when almost new futrell for example. I was wondering if anyone follows this. I have been a bmw tech for a long time now and only remember any break in stuff on M models.

plat

Ready to race!
There's a very important reason for breaking-in an engine. My recommendation is to stick with the manufacturer's recommendations and keep your lead foot off the pedal until after 1000 miles. Don't you care about the long-term longevity of the engine?

TREGinginCO

Ready to race!
Follow the owner's manual ---- and because you've already done the full-throttle deal a couple of time --- I wouldn't sweat it.

Mr.Alex

I Got That 6.
I accidently touched redline once during the break in period, then on the way to waterfest16 I hit 97 but didnt cross 100 so thats that. But during the rest of the period I drove normaly, would throw it in tip and shift around 4k.

BMWguyw/GTI1

Ready to race!
Yea I care about the how long the engine will last. I have been taking it easy on it since i read the manual. I wasn't intentionally beating on the car saying screw VW I just didn't know there was a break in peroid on these cars.600 miles is not that long i am up too 400 allready so the time will go quickly.