GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Helix Depo LED Headlight Confusion

JSwag420

Ready to race!
I have a few questions I was hoping somebody would be able to answer. For the longest time, I thought I would need to do all that conversion crap to go from my ugly yellow halogen headlights to those nice LED headlights.

I saw OPD says their led headlights are specifically for the stock 10 pin halogens and I also emailed them as well to verify this. They told me their headlights should just plug right in. No error as well. I noticed it said no bulbs were included though. My question is, what kind of bulbs do I need? They told me I can use my "stock H7 bulbs" which doesn't make much sense to me or I can purchase HIDs for them. I'm pretty sure I can't put my stock yellow bulbs in those headlights so what's the deal with that?

http://opdparts.com/index.php/volkswagen/vw-golf-6-projector-headlights-r20-style-led-black.html

Would appreciate any help! I'm a complete noob when it comes to the electronics/lighting side of a car.

lilonespaz

Drag Race Newbie
You can use any H7 bulb in these projectors. So yes you can use your stock bulbs as they said.

If you want HID you will need to buy a hid bulb and ballast kit. The headlight assembly is just the projector (what allows you to use HID without being a total douche blinding everyone.

lilonespaz

Drag Race Newbie
So if you want an HID for a pure white or light blue color to the light... you will need to buy a H7 style HID kit.

lilonespaz

Drag Race Newbie
Yes. I bought a pair of whiter bulbs from advanced auto and they were pretty white.

These were the whitest halogen bulbs i had
http://shop.advanceautoparts.com/p/...1-P?navigationPath=L1*14920|L2*15004|L3*15644

I went to these as they were on sale they aren't as white as the ZXE(above) but they are pretty white and not yellowish/dull Id say they are maybe like 10% less white at most but they seem to spread a little wider/farther than the ZXE lights