GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Just bought a 2013 GTI 2 door base. Moving from a X5 4.8i

idriveastick

Ready to race!
Hey all. Figured I'd drop by and introduce myself. You'll see me around the forum asking newbie questions for a while (if I can't find the answer via search, that is).

Anyway, I'm a long-time BMW'er and I decided to go more inexpensive while maintaining the fun-factor. I bought a 2013 2 door base GTI. 6-speed manual, no packages or options. Color is gray. Not sure which, since their are two.

My background is basically BMW. I've owned two E36 M3s, an E36 318i, a 2005 X5 3.0i, and just traded in my 2007 X5 4.8i. The X5 4.8i is/was loaded, had the sport package, etc etc. I love(d) it, but I wanted something better on gas, cheaper overall, and with a warranty. My extended warranty is running out on the X5 in August of this year, so I figured I'd get out of it while I could. I've had one front wheel drive car, which was a Cavalier back in the day, as my first car. Since then, I've either had RWD or SUVs (RWD/4WD) and am not quite used to the FWD anymore. However, during the test drive, I really didn't mind it. I test drove both the dual clutch and the manual. I really like the manual gearbox, so I went with that.

Edit to add: I plan on doing the Stage 1 tune to get a little more umph out of 'er. Not sure when; probably after a year or so (depending on if I get bored). Also plan on putting some tint on all the way around, as I really love the look of these with dark windows. I probably won't do much other than that. I definitely plan on buying another set of wheels with some snow tires (I live in southern NYS, and we get the occasional big snow storm).

Picking up my GTI Monday afternoon, saying goodbye to the X5 then as well. Here's a photo:

Thanks,
idriveastick

NoSpark

Go Kart Champion