GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Possible HID solution for us with halogens.

Jekyll991

Ready to race!
The OEM xenons were a bit out of my price range, and honestly I don't like the look of the housing itself, it's actually what me not like the look of the MKVI's when I first seen them, but I find myself missing my ghetto HID-kit I have on my celica.

Anyway, what I've stumbled upon is a remote-adjustable HID kit. The point is it adjusts in and out in order to focus the beam to minimize the glaring/"dazzling" of oncoming traffic that normally happens when you put an HID kit in a reflector housing.

Here's a video of them in action.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_KpQ9aKTvLk

and some pics.

before:

after:

Last edited:

2010GTI4me

Go Kart Champion
I know I'm new here, but those look terrible! It looks like the mechanism that adjusts the headlights just cuts off some of the light, reducing overall output in the process. I have some experience with HIDs and with retrofitting my headlights on my old car, so speaking from experience, you would be better off doing a custom HID projector retrofit.

Jekyll991

Ready to race!
I know I'm new here, but those look terrible! It looks like the mechanism that adjusts the headlights just cuts off some of the light, reducing overall output in the process. I have some experience with HIDs and with retrofitting my headlights on my old car, so speaking from experience, you would be better off doing a custom HID projector retrofit.

Nothing is being blocked, just the bulb itself is being moved in and out to focus the light.

here's a picture of the bulb itself:

and the remote

A projector retrofit is obviously the "best" solution. But my car is on lease (though I do plan on keeping it). And there is no way I'm cutting up a brand new set of headlights..

2010GTI4me

Go Kart Champion