GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Possibly a new forum member.

lon888

Ready to race!
Hi to all. I'm from Oklahoma City and I might be a new VW owner and forum member. I have been looking for a new 4-door GTi with a 6-speed. The dealer I have been working with in the Dallas area has found the car I'm looking for and he shot me an excellent price quote. I am not having pre-buyers remorse, but I am conerned about the reliability track record of VW. I have been reading about everyone's new car woes. The one thing that really concerns me at this time is the clutch throw out bearing issue. I hope this is an isolated problem or problem with interface between the seatback and steering wheel. Another thing that concerns me is the crazy electrical system on this car (CAN Bus system). I'm a mechanical engineer and been in the aircraft turbine and engine repair business for 31 years and have never seen a system like this before. For the past 23 years I have been a loyal Honda guy. so needless to say I'm used to really reliable electrics and other systems. During my 23 years of Honda ownership, I have only taken a car in for warranty repairs 3 times. No matter how you feel about Honda, that's an impressive record! All other maintenace I do myself.

Since I have been driving, I have owned a lots of fun sports cars - Datsun 240Z, Fiat X1/9, Austin Healey Sprite, Triumph TR-6, MGB, Honda Prelude and Civic Si. Several of the cars were basket cases and I restored them myself. I do everything including engine and gearbox rebuilding, suspension work, interior, air con, anything except bodywork. I don't have the patience to sand in 1 spot for 8 hours. Working on Lucas electrics (the prince of darkness!) taught me a great deal about working on electrics. During the late 70's and early 80's, I worked on "them furrin" cars to me help get money while I was in engineering school. Jumping on a Porsche 911, BMW 2002, Jaguar E-type meant little to me. It was just fun!