GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Winter wheel set-up ?: 16" steelies or 17" alloys

brutus1

Passed Driver's Ed
Its my first time buying a dedicated winter wheel set-up (Just bought my GTI this summer). Should I go with a 16" steelie wheel set-up or get a 17" cheaper alloy wheel set-up (which would cost about $400 more than the steelies)? I am leaning toward the steelies because I'm not that concerned with winter looks plus I could just use that extra money to put towards wheels next spring. What do you guys think?

djaikon

Ready to race!
Its my first time buying a dedicated winter wheel set-up (Just bought my GTI this summer). Should I go with a 16" steelie wheel set-up or get a 17" cheaper alloy wheel set-up (which would cost about $400 more than the steelies)? I am leaning toward the steelies because I'm not that concerned with winter looks plus I could just use that extra money to put towards wheels next spring. What do you guys think?

I personally go with the 16" steelies for a few reasons...cheaper rims, cheaper tires, and if I slide into a curb or hit one that's covered in snow, I don't care if I damage the steelies.

J-Cooz

Go Kart Champion
I had 16" steelies but am going with a 17" setup for this winter. 16s feel very floaty and the 17" should feel a little more planted in the winter.

RacingManiac

Drag Race Newbie
16" is probably cheaper and potentially better for snow tire use. I would've gone that route if it weren't for the dirt cheap 17" setup I got locally...

brutus1

Passed Driver's Ed
I faced the same question when I got my car last November. I ended up getting 16" alloys at $85/ea at TireRack.com

I used to use steelies on my mk4 GTI, but this time I priced cheap alloy wheels. They weren't that much more than the steelies and....no rust!

FWIW, here's what I bought (the price is now $89/ea)
Sport Edition F7

Thats a good point about the rust, I didn't even think about that. Do steelies normally rust?

CaptObvious75

Ready to race!