GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Help me with choosing rims

jordy6

Passed Driver's Ed
Can anyone recommend (cheap) rims for me, i like the look of vmr v701. Does anyone know cheaper similar looking rims in black and 18" preferably. I'm a student so i'm on a tight budget, i don't want to spend more than €1000 on wheels and tires together.

SirClimax

Ready to race!
Honestly, you shouldn't bother wasting your money on cheap wheels. Either spend it on good tires or save up for good wheels. Any wheels under 800-900 a set are garbage and may end up having a catastrophic failure that will cost you way more than a few extra hundred to get good wheels.

CHerna

Ready to race!
Dis ^

Not trying to be a dick, but VMR's are already cheap (in terms of price).

pcfoo

Passed Driver's Ed
I would look into Sparco ASSETTO GARA @ Black.
Slightly cheaper and notably lighter than the vmr v701. Very similar 10-spoke design.

zef

Drag Racing Champion
Sparco's are not a bad choice. VMR's are cheap but they don't have QC problems--on the contrary they're actually a pretty tough wheel.

Or instead of aftermarket--look for another set of clean OEM wheels. The "austin" wheels off the MK7 looks pretty sexy on a MK6. And since every MK7 owner and their mother is trying to sell them now you can probably get a pretty new set with tires for 400-500$ (or euros, since the dollar and euro right now are almost 1:1).

corydd

Go Kart Champion
I would recommend both the Sparcos and VMRs if you like them. I know a few people who had those Sparcos and really liked them. I ran VMRs on my car for years and drove them hard (track included) with zero issues. They're not the lightest wheels in the world but they're definitely sturdy wheels.

jordy6

Passed Driver's Ed