GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Stage 2 and California Emissions

insanebikerboy

I reed guud.
While I'm still trying to figure out if my GTI is chipped or not, I'm thinking I will eventually end up at stage 2 regardless. This is a daily driver and occasionally hauls the kids around so I don't have any reason to go beyond stage 2.

That said, after my research on here it appears for a stage 2 I need the chip, an intake, and a new downpipe at a minimum, intercooler and exhaust are optional.

How would a new downpipe affect emissions testing in California? I'm actually brand new to the state (moved here with the Navy) so I'm not entirely savvy on the emissions testing as is.

Something I have considered after reading on here is simply buying a non-cat DP and throwing the stock one on there as the test date rolls around. If I did that, would there be issues with the Stage 2 software being run with a stock DP?

omgturbo!

Go Kart Champion
anything but oem will not work for emissions. you'll have to put the stock back in, flash to stock, smog, then put it all back.

as far as i know, its not recommended to run stage 2 file without a downpipe (extra boost and fuel). thats why you have to flash back to stock or stage 1 when you pull a dp. hopefully plac will comment in here, he pulls his dp off and back on 2-3 times a week.

stevenchkim

Go Kart Champion
It's not recommended long term, but I flashed to stg 2 while waiting for the dp in the mail, for like 6 days and it wasn't a problem. But if you're gonna swap downpipe to OEM for the test, you also have to switch back to stg 1 prg if you're APR b/c of the the O2 sensor readiness codes.

steemax

Go Kart Champion
I too am worried about this since I Just went stage 2, I tried looking around on the DMV website but couldn't find a clear cut answer... any californians know when the first smog test for a brand new car is?

Rotaryknight

Go Kart Champion