GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

ChiChat17: Boosted Learns How To Cook

Status
Not open for further replies.

OmniGLH

Autocross Newbie
Community college is where it’s at. I worked as an automotive technician when I got out of high school. Got like 3 degrees and all my automotive certs. Then decided (because my body sucks) I didn’t want to crawl under cars for the rest of my life. By then I was like 23 and no longer a dependent. Considered poor by the federal government. Applied to ASU and a couple other colleges. Applied for grants. Basically got my business degree for free. #thanksobama

Funny - I wanted to be a mechanic as my first choice. My dad was a mechanic for years. He refused to let me do it, specifically because he knew it was hard on the body. Most of his mechanic friends were pretty beat up by middle age with tons of ailments. Knee problems, back problems, etc. from crawling around cars.

Now.... I'm fairly certain I'd have only been a tech for a period before likely moving into my own shop or something but... no way to know that for sure.

right on, Jim - all good points, esp on the housing and living your life, etc, and if your paying for shit , at least make it fun shit, I agree! same here on friends and connections here.

COL adjustments - wow, no - we have not heard about that for our group/company, so dang, micoballs being tough there. f that.

agreed on community college too, guise. I did the same, before doing nights school program to finish up at a 4 year. Good stuff.

Yeah Microsoft was weird on that. They paid well, and if you were located back at one of the Washington campuses, it was a great place to work with tons of extra benefits and perks. If you weren't in WA, it was a lot tougher.