GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Big oil leaks :(

Maxikosta

Hi guys, I am new to the GTI life with a 2011 mk6 I’ve bought about 3 months ago and I’m not off to a great start.

I‘ve loved this car since I took it for a test drive and have been babying it since day 1. I had to get some warranty work done to my car at the start (water pump what else) I was told I have a ‘small’ oil leak also.
It took me a while to get around to chucking it up on a hoist and when I did I really wished I had done it sooner. Oil leaks seem to be coming out of fkn everywhere (See attached photos) and I was just wondering if anyone with a bit more experience would be able to let me know what common issues these cars have that lead to these massive puddles in my driveway?

Appreciate any help in advance, I have an absolutely loved driving this car and hope I can drive it without any worries again soon.

IMG_2626.jpegIMG_2625.jpegIMG_2624.jpegIMG_2623.jpegIMG_2622.jpegIMG_2627.jpeg

aspro_gti

Autocross Champion
Check what fsures said, and inspect the valve cover, oil pan, and lower timing cover. They're the usual suspects. They are all sealed with sealant which tends to go bad after miles and miles. They're not too hard of a fix if you're patient and have steady hands. Dm me if this is the case, I can help.

aspro_gti

Autocross Champion
Try and wipe it down from top to bottom, and then inspect where exactly it leaks from because it tends to get messy and hard to track where the oil came from.

Maxikosta

My vote would be to check for a dead PCV unit. When they go bad they will pressurize the motor. If left unrepaired can blow the rear main seal.
Thanks bro, any easy ways to check for a dead pcv? I’ll take it out after work today

Maxikosta