GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Shop Review - Redline Speed Worx

TurtleJames

Go Kart Champion
Redline Speed Worx - RS Worx
www.redlinespeedworx.com

They are a repair and performance shop located in Washington, NJ (soon to be Greenbrook). Owners are JR and Pat. Pretty heavy presence on the forums. Authorized APR dealer and specialize in European automobiles.

I've been debating whether or not to post a review of these guys for a while now. I've had some good and bad experiences with them, so I'll try to be as objective as possible.

Work Completed There:

APR Intercooler
Carbon Valve Cleaning
Timing Belt Tensioner / Chain
Water Pump

The Good

Owner's JR and Pat are both really nice guys and are easy to speak with. JR always get back to you in a timely fashion, and is very patient to go through all your questions even though they are very busy.

They have some of the best paperwork I've seen in a private shop. All part numbers are clearly stated. And they email you copies.

They have a good reputation, work on all sorts of high end vehicles, and seem to have a loyal and steady consumer base.

Although seemingly not important, these things add up to instill confidence. You may not have an R8, but you want somebody that treats you and your car as carefully as you do.

They take their time working on your car, and nothing has failed so far.

The Bad:

Location and facility niggles are moot since they are moving soon to what appears to be a much nicer / convenient place.

Pricing for labor and parts is roughly 20-30% more than other shops. (At least for the work I had done). I don't mind paying a premium if everything is done right and on time. More on that later.

These guys are very busy, and I think that's where most of my complaints about them stem from. The ratio of work being done, space, and technicians seem to be skewed. I think this causes some quality control and timing issues.