GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

2.0 TSI Timing Chain Tensioner Failure Analysis

inch7706

Hello MK6 forum.

Long time lurker, and first time poster, but I think everyone here will find this interesting.

I hopped in my car January 5, 2016 to head out to dinner, and my car would not start. 112,000 miles on the odometer, bone stock, and only other issue I've had is a cracked intake manifold (I'm on my 4th). Lo and behold after some diagnosis my timing chain tensioner had failed. Now some good references to this issue are The Official Timing Chain Tensioner failure thread and also The Timing Chain Tensioner DIY. But what I'm going to cover here is the analysis of the actual failed part.

A quick background for me: I'm an engineer at a competitor OEM and I work in Quality and focus exclusively on warranty parts. Every day I look at failed warranty parts, analyze them, and fix the root cause so it doesn't happen again. I wanted to get into this as I have yet to see any definitive breakdown of what is actually happening to this tensioner, and what the risk is to everyone else that owns a 2.0 TSI that has not yet had this issue (hint: prognosis is NOT GOOD)

So here is the timing chain tensioner from my 2011 GTI (Part# 06H 109 467)

If we rotate it 180° to look from the top:

And slide this spring off:

We find this little piece of metal in the hole. Look a ratchet!

Now the problem I see here, is that there seems to be a tooth missing?? lets take a closer look (like, with a microscope):

Yeah this does not look good. I can tell you that when this was still in my car, I could compress the tensioner and this "ratchet" was definitely not holding. Reference this Video for the failure mechanism (note, this is not my video, but it is much clearer than the one I took of my engine)