GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Final decision on brakes for Track Day

legandrex

Ready to race!
After several hours of searching and advice from a few, I am going to make a few purchases for one or two track days I hope to attend this fall. Looking for some feedback on what I plan to do.

First, I have little experience other than I am 37 and have been driving a performance type car most of my driving years. I have done touring on Road America several times which has allowed me to take corners at a good clip and reach over 100mph on several occassions while closing the gap so to speak. I got the bug and want to do a few track days...maybe one at Blackhawk and one at Road America before the snow flies.

My GTI is stock at this time(pirelli all seasons) and I intend to drive in novice group pushing it at a 7/10's pace or so max.

Here is what I plan to do and tell me if it is necessary or not.

1. Helmet-looking at a basic Zamp JA-2 open face helmet(meets requirements)-decent helmet or should I spend more money for something better?
2. Stoptech Street Performance pad replacement for front and rear
3. Fluid Change-not sure if to go with ATE Super Blue or Motul 600 fluid-don't really want to have to flush more than once a year so.
4. USP stainless lines-necessary?

Work will be performed at a CarX a friend of mine owns so labor is free.

My budget is limited so my decisions are keeping that in mind, perfect world I would have summer tires, BBK, change fluid day after, etc. but can't swing it with two little ones, a mortgage, wife...you know the drill.

I just want to have fun, be safe, and not kill myself or the car.

Thanks in advance.

RacingManiac

Drag Race Newbie